Interesting Facts I Jotted Down This Week

In this blog, I just jotted down some facts I noticed this week:

1. Everyone knows Mark Zuckerberg, since he established Facebook, the most popular social network, even my grandparents know about him! But why, the founders of Instagram, Snapchat, Twitter are not as famous as Mark? You have to admit the fame of the founder and the whole team could do great publicity!

QQ20160209-1

2. Blogs aren’t blogs anymore. Some of them are becoming money machines. For example, when you are browsing through some fashion bloggers’, many of those fancy posts are sponsored. Well, how material this world becomes! The most terrifying fact is that even when they did not specify some items as “sponsored”, I will not trust them any more!

QQ20160209-2

3. Do you know about juice cleanse? It’s such a hit on instagram. I ordered one bunch, and it cost me $350 for 42 bottles of fresh juice. According to them, after I drink nothing but those drinks for 7 days in a row, I will be as skinny as Karlie Kloss. It turns out they are nothing but ordinary fresh juices, and I was starving after 5 days and gave up my Karlie Kloss path. Wow, how easy it is to make money.

QQ20160209-3.png

4. Since I major in education, I am quite sensitive on relative questions. One day, when I took an uber, the driver asked “What’s the shortcoming of Chinese education, compared  to the one in US?” I am quite confused on the  reasons people, even those Chinese educators, view Chinese education as a failure. To be honest, I disagree. In China, at least every student can afford their higher education, and though the elite education phenomenon appears, the elite is defined by academic performance rather than family wealth. As for how Chinese people teach, I admit there are lots of weakness in communicative abilities development, but when it comes to a more academic course such as Physics and Maths, Chinese people always ace with their nonstop parctise. As a Chinese, I am pretty proud of how I was taught. As a teaching newbie, I just want to improve the widespread pedagogy of China; instead of criticizing it.

5. I really want to dig into an interesting phenomenon: Crazy Rich Asians, due to a random finding in the bookstore.

 QQ20160209-4

I hope I can finish it earlier to share with you my feelings on it! It is amazing that Chinese people are so rich! For example, the average paycheck in Shanghai is around 10,000 RMB (1500 USD), but people could afford luxury brands as normal goods!

Leave a comment